Canadian Football Legends
Object ID:
Sydney Halter bust. A member of the Canadian Football Hall of Fame.
Custom HTML Field:
G. Sydney Halter

Executive Career

Executive of the Winnipeg Football Club
1934 - 1953

President of the Amateur Athletic Union of Canada
1938 - 1946

Commissioner of the Western Interprovincial Football Union (WIFU)
1953 - 1957

Commissioner of the Canadian Football League (CFL)
1958 - 1966

Awards and Honours

Grey Cup Participation as an Executive
1935, 1937 - 1939, 1941, 1945 - 1947, 1950, 1953 (10)

Grey Cup Winning Team(s) as an Executive
1935, 1939, 1941 (3)

G. Sydney Halter was active in amateur sports in Winnipeg, Manitoba and in 1934 assisted in reorganizing the Winnipeg Football Club. Halter was the treasurer in 1935 when Winnipeg became the first western team to win the Grey Cup.

Halter participated in the evolution of Canadian professional football. In 1958, he was selected the first commissioner of the CFL, and under his direction the league matured and prospered.

G. Sydney Halter is also a member of the Canadian Amateur Sports Hall of Fame, Canada's Sports Hall of Fame, the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame, the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame and the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame and received the Order of Canada in 1977.

Inducted into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame and Museum in 1966 as a builder.

Class of 1966

Johnny FerraroG. Sydney HalterGreg KabatDave McCannSylvester P. QuiltyHugh Stirling

Halter, G. Sydney
Search Terms:
Canadian Football Hall of Fame
Click to Enlarge