Canadian Football Legends
Object ID:
Year Range from:
Year Range to:
Replica of the the Jeff Russel Memorial Trophy.

The Jeff Russel Memorial Trophy is a Canadian football award recognizing the most outstanding player of the Quebec University Football League.

The trophy was originally presented to the player who best exemplified skill, sportsmanship, and courage in the Interprovincial Rugby Football Union. In 1973, it became the award to the Most Outstanding Player of the Canadian Football League's East Division and either the winner of this trophy or the winner of the Jeff Nicklin Memorial Trophy from the West would go on to win the CFL's Most Outstanding Player Award. The trophy was donated to the Canadian Rugby Union in 1928, to honour former Montreal player, Jeff Russel, who was killed in 1926, while repairing damaged electric lines for the Montreal Power Company. The trophy was officially retired in 1994 at the request of the Russel family.

In 2003, it was re—established for recognizing the players in the Quebec conference of CIS football and the winner is nominated for the national Hec Crighton Trophy.
Custom HTML Field:
Russel, Jeff
Search Terms:
Jeff Russel Memorial Trophy
Click to Enlarge