CFLPA: Tom Pate Award

Tom Pate ImageEvery year the Canadian Football League Players’ Association (CFLPA) presents the Tom Pate Award; an award held in high regard. It is an award given to players who display qualities that distinguish them from their peers.

It is this rare quality that these players maintained and made them recipients of the award. Tom Pate had a unique combination of outstanding sportsmanship and dedication to the league and his community.

Tom Pate was educated at the University of Nebraska and played first-stringer with the Cornhuskers. After shuffling through various teams, he became a star with the Hamilton Tiger-Cats.

In October 1975, however, his stardom as well as his life, was abruptly ended, when in his fourteenth game, against the Calgary Stampeders, he suffered an aneurysm in the fourth quarter. Pate, only 23 at the time, never regained consciousness and died two days later.

Each year each team nominates a team member for this award. The recipient should embody the qualities that distinguished Tom Pate; qualities that recognize a player with outstanding sportsmanship, who has made a contribution to this team as well as to his community Association.

Past Winners

2018 Edmonton Eskimos Logo  Edmonton Eskimos Ryan King
2017 Edmonton Eskimos Logo Edmonton Eskimos Adarius Bowman
2016  BC Lions  Marco Iannuzzi
2015 Ottawa Redblacks Logo Ottawa REDBLACKS Henry Burris
2014  Calgary Stampeders Logo Calgary Stampeders Randy Chevrier
2013  Montreal Alouettes Logo Montreal Alouettes Kyries Hebert
2012  Montreal Alouettes Logo Montreal Alouettes Brian Bratton
2011  Hamilton Tiger-Cats Logo Hamilton Tiger-Cats Kevin Glenn
2010  Calgary Stampeders Logo Calgary Stampeders Wes Lysack
2009  Hamilton Tiger-Cats Logo Hamilton Tiger-Cats Marwan Hage
2008  Saskatchewan Roughriders Saskatchewan Roughriders Jeremy O’Day
2007  Winnipeg Blue Bombers Logo Site Link Winnipeg Blue Bombers Milt Stegall
2006   BC Lions Mark Washington
 2005  Hamilton Tiger-Cats Logo Hamilton Tiger-Cats Danny McManus
2004  Montreal Alouettes Logo Montreal Alouettes Barron Miles
2003   BC Lions Steve Hardin
2002  Calgary Stampeders Logo Calgary Stampeders Greg Frers
2001  Edmonton Eskimos Logo Edmonton Eskimos Rick Walters
2000  Hamilton Tiger-Cats Logo Hamilton Tiger-Cats Mike Morreale
1999   BC Lions Jamie Taras
1998  Winnipeg Blue Bombers Logo Site Link Winnipeg Blue Bombers Glen Scrivener
1997  Calgary Stampeders Logo Calgary Stampeders Mark McLoughlin
1996  Toronto Argonauts Toronto Argonauts Michael “Pinball” Clemons
1995  Calgary Stampeders Logo Calgary Stampeders Mark McLoughlin
1994   Baltimore Stallions O.J. Brigance
1993  Toronto Argonauts Toronto Argonauts Michael “Pinball” Clemons
1992   BC Lions Danny Barrett
1991  Calgary Stampeders Logo Calgary Stampeders Stu Laird
1990  Saskatchewan Roughriders Saskatchewan Roughriders  Ritchie Hall
1989   BC Lions Matt Dunigan
1988  Edmonton Eskimos Logo Edmonton Eskimos Hector Pothier
1987  Montreal Alouettes Logo Montreal Alouettes Nick Arakgi
1986   BC Lions Tyrone Crews
1985  Saskatchewan Roughriders Saskatchewan Roughriders Jerry Friesen
1984  Ottawa Redblacks Logo Ottawa REDBLACKS Bruce Walker
1983  Hamilton Tiger-Cats Logo Hamilton Tiger-Cats Henry Waszczuk
1982  Edmonton Eskimos Logo Edmonton Eskimos David Boone
1981  Saskatchewan Roughriders Saskatchewan Roughriders  Ken McEachern
1980  Ottawa Redblacks Logo Ottawa REDBLACKS Jim Coode
1979  Toronto Argonauts Toronto Argonauts Peter Muller
1978  Calgary Stampeders Logo Calgary Stampeders John Helton
1977  Saskatchewan Roughriders Saskatchewan Roughriders Ron Lancaster
1976  Saskatchewan Roughriders Saskatchewan Roughriders George Reed